What are chakras and what do they mean?

Published on 9 November 2019 at 17:23

A lot of people get confused when you talk about an aura or a chakra. Sometimes people think these are the same things, but they are not. In this article I'm going to explain what the difference between them is and what the chakras mean...

Difference between aura and chakra

An aura is an energy field that we have around us and cannot perceive with the naked eye unless you are psychic or have trained for it. Trees, plants, stones, animals and people all have an aura. This consists of 7 different colors of the rainbow. Each of these colored layers has a connection to a chakra.


A chakra can be seen as an energy wheel through which life energy flows. There are seven different colored chakras that together form one system for your body. Each chakra has its own function. The chakras are depicted inside our bodies and the aura around our bodies. A layer of aura is connected to one chakra.


In short, the aura and chakra are connected to each other, but one works inside our body and the other around it. This while 1 chakra layer is connected to 1 aura layer.

What is a chakra?

A chakra would be connected to certain organs or body parts. If the chakra is not functioning properly or out of balance, it would cause imbalance in your body as well and health problems could arise. Below I describe which chakra influences which part of your body and what it can cause, but remember that this is not scientifically proven and that this website is NOT MEANT FOR SELF-DIAGNOSIS. If you experience any of the following symptoms, please see your doctor.


Function chakras and place


1. The Root chakra

This chakra is located at the very bottom of your spine, near your tailbone. The colour of this chakra is red and means safety, your physical body, trust, grounding and survival. This chakra works mainly with your legs, feet, bones and muscles. If this chakra works badly, you may suffer from obesity, arthritis, anorexia nervosa, anxiety, negative self-image, feeling unsafe and constipation.



2. The belly chakra

This chakra is slightly higher in your body, just below your navel. The color of this chakra is orange and means emotions, self-confidence, intimacy, vitality and trust of others. It works mainly with the ovaries, testicles, kidneys, blood circulation and bladder.


When the chakra does not work properly, impotence, problems with the bladder or kidneys, stiffness in the lower back or problems with the pelvic floor and sexual intercourse can occur. It can also happen that you have trouble expressing your emotions, taking over other people's problems or being uncontrollable in your sexuality.



3. The Solar Plexus Chakra

Another step above it is the solar plexus chakra, which is located just above the navel. Its color is yellow and means strength, will, power, self-esteem, digestive system and self-confidence. When it doesn't function well you can feel tired and lifeless, have little self-esteem and self-confidence and don't dare to say no. It is also difficult to make your own choices.



4. The Heart Chakra

The place of this chakra speaks for itself, I think. The color of the chakra is green and means love for yourself and others, empathy, forgiveness, desire and appreciation.


It works together with your lungs, heart, arms and hands and when they don't function properly it is possible that heart diseases, asthma or high blood pressure will occur. Feeling guilty, having an unworthiness feeling and not being able to deal with relationships can also occur.



5. The throat chakra

It is located at the throat and has a blue color. It stands for communication, inner voice, telepathy, clear hearing and your imagination and creativity. This place is mainly connected to the neck, shoulders, arms and hands and when this chakra does not work properly it could be that you suffer from a stiff neck, sore throat, a cold, hearing disorders and have difficulty expressing yourself. You also have a lot of self-criticism and hold on to emotions which often causes you to experience a lump in your throat.



6. Forehead chakra (the third eye)

This is one of the most famous chakras because it is also called the third eye. This chakra is located between your eyes, in the middle of your forehead. The color is purple, also called indigo. Its function is to see clearly, to see energies, colors, images and entities. Also the ability to see auras and chakras in others and thinking is influenced by it. When it is not fully functioning it can cause headaches, migraines, blindness, tired eyes, blurred vision and confusion.



7. The crown chakra

This chakra is highest in your body, at the top of your head. The color is violet and has to do with your consciousness, knowing, insight and meditation. It is connected to your cerebral cortex and central nervous system. If it does not function properly, you may experience depression, confusion, boredom, lethargy, low concentration and inability to think clearly.



Rating: 5 stars
1 vote

Add comment


There are no comments yet.